Clare Camogie

Founded 1934

Co. Clare

Match Report - Glenomra Senior Shield Final

Want to manage your club's membership online this year? We've seen revenue increase by 30%.

See More

Glenomra Shield Final 

Shannon Camogie: Feakle Killanena 1-17 Sixmilebridge 2-8

In their first season competing at senior level Feakle Killanena won their first senior title when they defeated Sixmilebridge to capture the Glenomara Sheild on a scoreline of 1-17 to 2-8.

Feakle Killanena got off to the better start and had six points recorded at the first water break, Feakle Killanena’s scores coming from a point each from play from Roisin Mc Mahon and Lorna McNamara plus four frees from McNamara

The introduction of Chloe Morey after the break steadied the ship for Sixmilebridge and they outscored Feakle Killanena in this quarter by four points to two. Morey providing all the scores for the Bridge including a penalty on the verge of half time which went narrowly over the cross bar. McNamara added a brace for Feakle Killanena, to see the half time score Feakle Killanena 0-8 Sixmilebridge 0-4.

Feakle Killanena upped the ante after half time and a goal by Laura Mc Grath on the third minute widened the gap between the sides. Morey added 3 further points from frees while Mc Namara & Mc Grath contributed 5 additional points for Feakle Killanena leaving the score at the break 1.13 to 7 points.

Sixmilebridge did not relinquish and there was some nervous moments when they were awarded their second penalty of the day. This time Morey rattled the net to bring the margin back to six points between the sides. The sides continued to trade scores with McNamara & Shauna Canny adding a point each from play before Sixmilebridge found the net again to reduce the margin to five points. As the minutes ran out McNamara converted one more free and the East Clare side ran out eventual winners.

Feakle Killanena: Roisin Quilligan, Meave Brady, Eileen Daly, Rachael McNamara: Aoife Tuohy (JC), Regan Conway, Ella Macnamara: Zi Yan Spillane, Evelyn Duggan: Claire McNamara, Shauna Canny (JC) (0-1), Roisin McMahon (0-1) Laura Mc Grath (1-1) Robyn Conway, Lorna Mc Namara (0-14 9F)

Subs: Louise O’Callaghan for Claire McNamara, Louise Keehan for Evelyn Duggan

Sixmilebridge: Sinead Hogan; Aoife Hurley, Deanna Considine, Kiah Mellett; Elouise O’Brien, Maire McGrath, Hannah Wilson; Rachel Kelly, Olivia Phelan; Niamh Lyons(JC), Rachel O’Halloran, Sarah Loughnane (JC), Aoibhín McNamara, Finia O’Brien 0-1, Muireann Scanlon

Subs: Chloe Morey (1-7) for Rachel O’Halloran, Jessica Williams (1-0) for Niamh Lyons

Referee: Noel Quinn

Other results:

Junior A Championship Cup Final 

Fr McNamara Park: Broadford 2-9 Ruan/Crusheen 1-10

Junior C Championship Cup Final 

Fr McNamara Park: Cratloe 1-9 Broadford 3-6

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play