Clare Camogie

Founded 1934

Co. Clare

Match Report - Clare v Antrim ( Electric Ireland Minor A Shield Championship)

Want to manage your club's membership online this year? We've seen revenue increase by 30%.

See More

Electric Ireland Minor A Shield Championship 2023

Clare v Antrim

Sunday, 12th March @ 2pm @ NGDC, Abbottstown

Referee: Barry Nea, Westmeath

The NGDC in Abbottstown, Dublin was the venue for round 1 of the Electric Ireland Minor A Shield championship on Sunday afternoon with Antrim providing the opposition for the Banner county.

Clare took full advantage of the strong wind at their backs in the opening half of this tie leading to a 1-08 to 6 point win. Caoimhe Cahill was first off the mark for Clare with a well taken point from play with Danielle Beston and Sophie Conway following up with a point each. Clares next two efforts trailed wide of the posts before Antrim got on the scoreboard, courtesy of a free from Anna McKillop. A Sophie Conway point from a placed ball gave Clare a 4 point advantage after 15 minutes of play. The sides traded frees before the Antrim goalie, Lorraine McGivern made a super save on Aoibhinn McNamaras shot on goal, sending it over the bar. The Antrim side kept in touch with a third pointed free with Caoimhe Cahill scoring the last point of the 1st half to see Clare go in at the break ahead by 8 points to 3.

A tense second half turned out to be a low scoring affair. Clare, playing against the elements in this half, registered just one score, a crucial goal finished to the net by Sophie Conway in a move that started with Aoibhin McNamara to Maeve Miliea and finishing up in the hands of Conway. Antrim registered three further points in the half courtesy of frees from Shannagh Hegarty and Anna McKillop. Final score Clare 1-08 Antrim 0-06.

Round 2 takes place on Sunday March 19th @2pm in Fr McNamara Park, Ennis. Clare face Meath in this round and will be aiming to build on Sundays win.

The Minor A Shield Championship is a single group of 6 teams with each team playing the other. The top four will contest the semi-finals on the weekend of 22/23 April.

Remaining Clare Fixtures:

19/03/2023 - Round 2: Clare v Meath 2pm @ Fr. McNamara Park, Ennis

26/03/2023 - Round 3: Clare v Offaly

02/04/2023 - Round 4: Wexford v Clare

15 or 16 April - Round 5: Limerick v Clare

Clare:Eva O'Halloran (Inagh Kilnamona); Lauren Slater(Truagh Clonlara), Gráinne McMahon (Newmarket on Fergus), Áine Longe (Inagh Kilnamona); Caoimhe Ryan (Banner), Clíodhna Queally (Inagh Kilnamona), Neasa ni Lachtnáin (Ruan); Caoimhe Cahill (Kilmaley)(0-03 1f), Aisling Moloney (Ruan) ( captain); Danielle Beston (Scariff Ogonnelloe)(0-01), Sophie Conway(Feakle Killanena)(1-03 1f), Elisha Rynne (Inagh Kilnamona); Maeve Milea ( Parteen Meelick), Aoibhinn Marren( Truagh Clonlara), Aoibhín McNamara ( Sixmilebridge) (0-01)

Subs used: Evie Scanlon(Clarecastle) for A Marren (HT), Sophie Torpey(St Josephs DB) for Elisha Rynne (40mins); Ali Collins(Scariff Ogonnelloe)for Caoimhe Ryan (50 mins); Aine Lenihan (Kilkishen)for Danielle Beston (55mins), Sarah Meade(Truagh Clonlara) for Maeve Milea (55mins).

Antrim: Eimear McGivern ( Loughgiel Shamrocks); Aoibheann Donnelly ( McQuillans, Ballycastle), Abi McNeill ( Ruairi Óg, Cushendall), Casey Crawford ( Cuchallains, Dunloy); Shannagh Hegarty (McQuillans, Ballycastle), Dearbhail Dobbin ( Geraldines, Portglenone), Erin Coulter ( Bridiní Óga, Glenravel); Janie McIntosh ( McQuillans, Ballycastle), Cara O’Boyle (Ruairi Óg, Cushendall); Anna McKillop ( Loughgiel Shamrocks), Mary McArthur ( Cuchullains, Dunloy), Orlaith McAllister (Ruairi Óg, Cushendall); Kady McNeill ( Ruairi Óg, Cushendall), Eobha McAllister ( Cuchallains, Dunloy)

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play